Are you facing a DUI charge? We encourage individuals to contact us and to act quickly and contact an experienced DUI lawyer who can handle the details of their arrest. It is important that you seek proper legal representation to be by your side during this time of crisis.
Georgia’s tough DUI penalties make getting legal representation essential. Don’t go to court unrepresented. If you can’t afford to miss work for a year, you can’t afford not to hire an experienced Georgia DUI attorney. Every local court system has unique customs and procedures. A good DUI lawyer will know the best course of action for your specific case in order to reach the best outcome. In addition, an experienced lawyer will know a myriad of DUI related defenses that will help resolve your cases efficiently and effectively.
Often, the first place many people turn to following a DUI arrest and charge for information is the Internet. Although there is a wealth of information available concerning a DUI, it is very important that you contact an attorney who can review the unique details of your case instead of attempting to handle this charge by yourself. Information found on the Internet is not one-size-fits-all and you should have a skilled attorney to help you through the process. In today’s society there are many things that we can handle on our own. However, beating a DUI charge is not one of those things.
A DUI conviction can harm your personal reputation, your career and your future. A DUI conviction in the state of Georgia carries minimum jail sentences, mandatory counseling, and often the loss of driving privileges. That’s why it’s crucial that you have an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer on your side, looking out for your rights.
Fast facts about Georgia DUI Law
Per Ga. Code 40-6-391, the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Limit if you are over 21 is 0.08%, and for commercial drivers it is 0.04%. If you are under 21, there is “Zero Tolerance”, BAC 0.02% or higher, Driver’s License Revocation minimum of six (6) months and fines. If your BAC is 0.08% or higher, you will face the same penalties as an adult.
Georgia Law prohibits DUI – you are driving and determined to be under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs; as well if you are driving and your chemical test (blood or breath) result is 0.08% BAC or higher. You face an enhanced penalty if your BAC is .15 or higher.
If you refuse a test, you face an automatic driver’s license suspension of one year.
A person’s 1st DUI Offense in Georgia can land up to one year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, up to one year license suspension, 40 hours of community service, probation and a DUI education course.
A DUI 2nd Offense in Georgia is punishable up to one year in jail, with a fine up to $1,000, up to three (3) years license suspension, 40 hours of community service, probation, DUI education course or substance abuse treatment, and possible Ignition Interlock Device.
In Georgia, 3rd DUI Offense can carry penalties of up to one year in jail, Fine $1,000-$5,000, up to five (5) years license suspension, 40 hours of community service, probation, DUI education course or substance abuse treatment, and possible Ignition Interlock Device.
A 4th Offense of DUI in Georgia is a felony and can be punishable for one to five years in state prison, up to a $5,000 fine.
Schedule a consultation today!
Looking for an affordable DUI attorney, Atlanta and surrounding areas? Contact us today and we will make the search easier.