The penalties for DUI in Georgia are very harsh. Because driving under the influence puts lives at risk, it is considered a serious offense and can carry severe penalties. Georgia law requires that even first time offenders could face jail time. For subsequent offenders, the penalties will only become more severe. This is a brief overview of the penalties you could face for DUI, based on offense.
Atlanta DUI Penalties
The first DUI conviction in Georgia you will receive a possible jail sentence of one year. The fine that you receive ranges from $300 minimum to $1,000. Your drivers license will be suspended for up to one year and you will also receive 40 hours of mandatory community service. To have your drivers license reinstated you will need to pay a $210 reinstatement fee. Drivers that are under 21 must delay obtaining their graduated drivers license for 12 months.
In Georgia, a second DUI conviction will be a mandatory jail sentence minimum of 48 hours. However you could receive from 90 days to 1 year in jail. The fine you receive can be from $600 minimum to $1,000. You will also receive a minimum 30 days of community service and a drivers license suspension for a period of 3 years. To have your license reinstated will cost $210. You will also have to complete a mandatory clinical evaluation and, if the court wishes, you will have to complete a substance abuse treatment program at your own expense. The court might also order you to have an ignition interlock device attached to your vehicle for second and subsequent offenses. Drivers that are under 21 must delay obtaining their graduated drivers license for 1 year.
The third time you are convicted of drunk driving in Georgia you will receive a mandatory 15 days in Jail. The fine that you receive will be from minimum $1,000, up to $5,000. You will serve a mandatory 30 days of community service drivers and your drivers license will be revoked for 5 years. Your name, photo, and address will be published in a local newspaper at the violators expense. You will also be declared what is called a “Habitual Violator” and your license plate will be seized and sent to the department of motor vehicle safety. You will also receive a mandatory clinical evaluation and, if the court wishes, you must complete a substance abuse treatment program at your expense.
Georgia House Bill 336, which was enacted in May of 2008 states that a 4th DUI violation within 10 years is a felony. A fourth conviction within 10 years of a previous offense will result in a fine of minimum $1,000 and no more than $5,000. Unless suspended by a judge, you could be imprisoned from 1 to 5 years. If the sentence is suspended by a judge, 90 days of the sentence must still be served. The convicted driver will also need to complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and may be ordered to complete a minimum of 60 days of community service.
Schedule a consultation today!
We understand it can be tricky to navigate the legal system alone. Call today to connect with us and schedule a free consultation.